>British 14 year old girl drinks and parties with her mother’s approval

>We’ve been discussing promiscuity lately here, particularly in relation to teenagers, so when I read this in The Daily Mail it just dove-tailed in nicely.

“From her rock-chick black hair, with its green and blonde streaks, to her Doc Marten boots, nine body-piercings, a faceful of ­permanent make-up and two tattoos, there is little about Sophie Watson’s appearance to suggest her true age.

But, aside from her disturbingly adult appearance, it is the conversation that really makes the jaw drop.

Ask Sophie about her social life and she’ll tell you that she drinks and parties with Mum’s blessing. Ask about her sex life and there are no mortified blushes. Instead, she’ll tell you ­— again, in the presence of her mother — that she’s slept with four boys in just six months.”

Read more.

This article is the exact example of what I don’t agree with – girls, children actually, living a life with adult trappings, like sex and alcohol, without the emotional or physical maturity that we need to deal with things when they go bad. By supporting teenagers to make adult choices (and the body piercings and tattoos don’t bother me provided they are done in a sterile way) then you are allowing them to end their childhoods.

The thing I learned as a sexually active teenager was that – you can never go back to your childhood. Once it’s over it’s gone forever. When you are in your childhood what you want to do is grow up out of it as fast as possible, it’s only when you leave it behind do you see what it was worth. Childhood was a time where one could grow in a cushioned environment. Your choices were smaller and less life changing than adult choices are.

As an adult the choices I make have deep repercussions, not only for myself, but for my family. I’m often called to put other people’s needs ahead of mine, to accept that I can’t have what I want, when I want it. Is a teenager ready to do that? Should a teenager have to do that?

Children have the freedom to be selfish, to take the time to learn to know themselves and to make mistakes in a way that they can handle. As they grow parents offer children greater responsibility so that they can learn to eventually bear adult burdens. If we allow children to jump straight to adult behavior then we deprive them of time growing up.

This entry was posted in teen sexuality. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to >British 14 year old girl drinks and parties with her mother’s approval

  1. Boganette says:

    >I didn't read the whole article but in my opinion:Sex at 14 is statutory rape. There's a reason why we have an age of consent. It's horrendous that this girl is having sex at such a young age. Frankly I cannot understand how the mother isn't facing consequences through child protective services because of this article.I have a huge problem with getting tattoos when you're under 18 and piercings when you're under 16. It doesn't matter if it's sterile or not. Tattoos are forever. And piercings can be forever depending on how quickly your skin heals. I got my first tattoo at 16 and while I don't regret it I would be very upset if my child got a tattoo at the same age. I have no problem with her hair colour or the way she's dressed and I wore Docs from a young age – I think all that stuff is getting a bit hysterical.But there is no doubt that if this child is drinking and having sex at 14 her childhood is being robbed from her. I feel sad for this girl. We need to support our children so they feel like individuals and feel empowered but this isn't the way to do it.

  2. Muerk says:

    >Boganette – I agree. Adult women can make their own choices and freely cope with the consequences. But this girl isn't even fully frown yet physically, yet alone mentally. How easy is it to get tattoos removed? I thought it was easy just expensive. I worry about teenagers drinking to excess and how it affects their brain development. It can't be good.

  3. Boganette says:

    >It's incredibly painful to get tattoos removed and there can be pretty bad scarring. It also takes a lot of sessions. It can definitely be done but I certainly wouldn't ever consider getting it done because of the risk of scarring.I agree about binge drinking. And also that it sets such a bad example for them in adult drinking. If you binge drink as a kid it's pretty easy to carry on that pattern. Not to mention how much it destroys your insides (for lack of a better term).Poor kid. I hope her mother's actions don't ruin her life. I bet she's desperate for boundaries.

Leave a Reply

